Agencies | Online Services | Policies | Transparency.Arkansas.gov

Arkansas Workers' Compensation Commission

Special Funds DivisionAWCC

Home
What's New
About Us
Services
Online Searches
Arkansas Code
Rules/Advisories/Fee Schedule
Opinions
Forms
Premium Tax
Reports
Conferences
Calculations
Basic Facts
Voluntary Drug-Free Workplace
Kids' Chance

Contact Us

Arkansas.gov
Special Funds - Robin Mickel, Administrator

The Special Funds Division is comprised of two individual funds: the Second Injury Trust Fund and the Death and Permanent Total Disability Trust Fund. The Second Injury Trust Fund was statutorily created to encourage employment of disabled workers by limiting, in the event of subsequent injury, the employer's liability for permanent disability benefits. Act 1415 of 2007 amended Arkansas Code 11-9-525, by stating that no new claims shall be filed with the Second Injury Fund on or after January 1, 2008.

The Death and Permanent Total Disability Trust Fund pays weekly benefits to permanent and totally disabled workers or dependents of deceased workers after the workers' compensation insurer has paid indemnity liability of $50,000 or $75,000, whichever is applicable by law. In an attempt to assure the solvency of the Death and Permanent Total Disability Trust Fund, the AR General Assembly amended 11-9-502, by increasing the compensation providers limit of liability to three hundred twenty-five (325) times the maximum total disability rate, for injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2008. (Act 1599 of 2007)

Contact the Special Funds’ Staff

SECOND INJURY FUND

DEATH & PERMANENT TOTAL DISABILITY TRUST FUND


SPECIAL FUNDS DIVISION
324 South Spring Street
P.O. Box 950
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-0950

Robin Mickel 682-5262 rmickel@awcc.state.ar.us
David Pake 682-5218 dpake@awcc.state.ar.us
David Simmons 682-2745 dsimmons@awcc.state.ar.us
Janna Craig 682-5163 jcraig@awcc.state.ar.us
Lisa Underwood 683-5741 lunderwood@awcc.state.ar.us
Carol Robbins 682-5221 crobbins@awcc.state.ar.us
Mary Broderick 682-5187 mbroderick@awcc.state.ar.us
Christy King 682-2533 cking@awcc.state.ar.us
Pat Brown 682-2771 pbrown@awcc.state.ar.us

AWCC

State of Arkansas
Workers' Compensation Commission
324 Spring Street
P.O. Box 950
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-0950
Telephone 1-501-682-3930 / 1-800-622-4472
Legal Advisor Direct 1-800-250-2511
Arkansas Relay System TDD 1-800-285-1131

For information or comments regarding this site
contact the AWCC Communications Liaison