page regularly for the latest news and updates from the Arkansas
Workers' Compensation Commission. Press releases, rules and advisory
changes, and updated services are just a few of the items that
will be presented on this page.
Notice: The September 1, 2017, implementation of Rule 099.41, Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Drug Formulary, has been extended to January 1, 2018, pending Legislative Review.
May 1, 2017
Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission
Notice of Public Hearing and Rule Making
Pursuant to the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Law codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-101 et
seq., notice is hereby given that the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission
(Commission) is proposing to create a new rule, Rule 099.41, Arkansas Workers’ Compensation
Drug Formulary. This rule is a drug formulary for all FDA approved drugs prescribed for an
accepted new workers’ compensation claim filed after September 1, 2017. This rule establishes
a process for filling workers’ compensation prescriptions, reviewing and prescribing Opioid
medications, and implements a dispute resolution process between a provider and the
reviewing pharmacists or PBM, a process for appealing to the AWCC, a process for rule review
and establishes the effective date of implementation. The proposed rule may be viewed in its
entirety on the Commission’s website, www.awcc.state.ar.us, or at the Commission’s offices in
Little Rock (complete address shown below).
A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, May 23, 2017 beginning at 1:00 P.M. in hearing room
1W06, on the first floor of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality building, 5301
Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas. Oral and written comments will be considered
at the hearing.
Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-205, the Commission allows 45 days for written public
comment through 4:30 P.M. Wednesday, June 14, 2017. Written comments may be submitted
by postal mail to the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission, P.O. Box 950, 4th & Spring
Streets, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-0950, by e-mail to
email@example.com, or by fax to 501-682-2786.
Click here to view/download Proposed Rule 099.41.
(Adobe Acrobat Reader required)
October 3, 2016
A catastrophic injury or death results in the loss of at least
one-third of the worker’s average weekly wage. This often leaves little
or no money to assist the children of the worker in furthering their education
beyond high school. Kids’ Chance of Arkansas has joined with Kids’ Chance
of America and other similar states organizations to increase awareness of this
dilemma. Kids’ Chance of Arkansas was fortunate to receive a
Governor’s Proclamation declaring November 14 to 18, 2016, Kids’ Chance
Click on the link to view the text of the proclamation: 2016 Kids' Chance Awareness Week Proclamation
September 14, 2016
The Commission issues an update to Advisory 2000-1 Revised that announces that the maximum rates for 2017 will be $661 for Total Disability and $496 for Permanent Partial Disability.
The Commission also issues an update to Advisory 2007-1 Revised that announces that the threshold at which the Death and Permanent Total Disability Trust Fund will assume payments of benefits for injuries resulting in permanent disability or death will be $214,825 for 2017.
February 26, 2016
The Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission is pleased to announce that its 32nd Annual Educational Conference will be held on September 14th and September 15th, 2016 at the Little Rock Marriot Hotel. The AWCC is especially excited for this year’s conference because the agency has resumed responsibility for the planning and presentation of the conference. The AWCC is confident that this year’s conference will be bigger and better than before. You can make your room reservations for the Little Rock Marriott Hotel by clicking here Book your group rate for AWCC Educational Conference or by simply calling Marriott Central Reservations directly at 1-877-759-6290. We will provide links for the conference attendee, vendor and sponsor registration soon. We look forward to seeing you there.
December 17, 2012
The Commission announces the issuance of Advisory 2012-1. This advisory authorizes the issuance of debit cards and other card payment systems for indemnity payments to injured employees, subject to certain restrictions.
November 20, 2012
The Commission’s Operations and Compliance Division announces changes in required data for Form 2, effective January 1, 2013. Click here to view the announcement.
April 25, 2011
The Commission announces the issuance of Advisory 2011-1. This Advisory addresses questions regarding updates to previously filed Form AR-4's regarding the completion of the AR-4 to report additional monies paid (or recovered).
Due to the various forms being processed by various divisions within the Commission, the Advisory also provides a link to the people designated to answer questions regarding a specific form.
State of Arkansas
Workers' Compensation Commission
324 South Spring Street
P.O. Box 950
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-0950
Telephone 1-501-682-3930 / 1-800-622-4472
Legal Advisor Direct 1-800-250-2511
Arkansas Relay System TDD 1-800-285-1131
or comments regarding this site
contact the AWCC Communications Liaison